The University of Hong Kong, School of Modern Languages and Cultures
HKU Home Faculty of Arts
GO!
The University of Hong Kong
Home
About the School
Staff
News & Events
Research
Undergraduate
Postgraduate
Facilities
Study Abroad
Scholarships & Prizes
Career Planning
Alumni
CPLL Courses
 
Contact Us

Staff
 
School of Modern Languages and Cultures
The University of Hong Kong
 
 
Head of School
Prof. Johnson, Kendall   kjohnson@hku.hk
 
Deputy Heads
Dr. Wong, John D.O. Chair of Committee on Publications jdwong@hku.hk
Dr. Vogt, Carl Roland Chair of Committee on Research and Postgraduate Studies crvogt@hku.hk
Mr. Holtermann, Sylvain Chair of Committee on Outreach and Development sylvainh@hku.hk
Dr. Meyer, Denis Charles Chair of Committee on Student Affairs and Resources dcmeyer@hku.hk
Dr. Meyer, Denis Charles Chair of Committee on Teaching, Curriculum and Examination dcmeyer@hku.hk
Mr. Urbanski, Paul Heinz Chair of Committee on Human Resources and Budget urbanski@hku.hk
Dr. Vogt, Carl Roland Chair of Committee on the EUST ‐ LANG Management Committee crvogt@hku.hk
 
Programme Directors
Dr. Tesfaye, Facil African Studies Programme ftesfaye@hku.hk
Dr. Gruenewald, Tim American Studies Programme tgruene@hku.hk
Dr. Kim, Loretta China Studies Programme lekim@hku.hk
Dr. Fichter, James European Studies Programme fichter@hku.hk
Dr. Wong, Dixon H.W. Global Creative Industries Programme hwwongc@hku.hk
Prof. Chu, Stephen Y.W. Hong Kong Studies sywchu@hku.hk
Dr. Borland, Janet Department of Japanese Studies borland@hku.hk
Dr. Kim, Su Yun Korean Studies Programme suyunkim@hku.hk
Dr. Abbas, Mohamed Salah Eldin Arabic Programme salah@hku.hk
Dr. Meyer, Denis C. French Programme dcmeyer@hku.hk
Mr. Urbanski, Paul Heinz German Programme urbanski@hku.hk
  Greek Programme  
Dr. Camporese, Nadia Italian Programme  nadcam@hku.hk
Ms. Almeida, Dora Portuguese Programme almeidad@hku.hk
Ms. Blasco-Garcia, Rocio Spanish Programme roblasco@hku.hk
Mrs. Tolinsson Ting, Kristina Swedish Programme tolin@hku.hk
Mrs. Ratana-Ubol, Kanokwal Thai Programme took@hku.hk
 
 
AREA STUDIES
 
African Studies
Dr. Tesfaye, Facil Assistant Professor ftesfaye@hku.hk
Dr. Castillo, Roberto Part-time Lecturer rocas@hku.hk
 
American Studies
Prof. Johnson, Kendall Associate Professor kjohnson@hku.hk
Dr. Gruenewald, Tim Assistant Professor tgruene@hku.hk
Dr. Wang, Grace Fulbright Visiting Associate Professor gwang525@hku.hk
Dr. Lai-Henderson, Selina Research Assistant Professor sels@hku.hk
Dr. Ford, Staci Honorary Associate Professor sford@hku.hk
Prof. McAndrews, Larry Part-time Lecturer  
Dr. Young, John O. Part-time Lecturer  
     
China Studies
Dr. Kim, Loretta Assistant Professor lekim@hku.hk
Dr. Li, Ji Assistant Professor liji66@hku.hk
Dr. Teo, Victor E.L. Assistant Professor victorteo@hku.hk
Dr. Wong, Samuel C.H. Assistant Professor samuelhh@hku.hk
Prof. Edwards, Louise P Honorary Professor ledwards@hku.hk
Dr. Orly, Selena Honorary Assistant Professor  
     
European Studies
Dr. Auer, Stefan Associate Professor stefauer@hku.hk
Dr. Fichter, James Associate Professor fichter@hku.hk
Dr. Leutzsch, Andreas DAAD Visiting Associate Professor leutzsch@hku.hk
Dr. Vogt, Carl Roland Assistant Professor crvogt@hku.hk
Dr. Cristaudo, Wayne Honorary Associate Professor cristaud@hku.hk
 
Global Creative Industries
Dr. Wong, Dixon H.W. Associate Professor hwwongc@hku.hk
Dr. Wong, Max W.L. Assistant Professor fattymax@hku.hk
Prof. Moeran, Brian Dermot Honorary Professor bdmoeran@hku.hk
Mr. Cheung, Baniel Honorary Assistant Professor baniel@hku.hk
Dr. Wu, Yongmei Honorary Assistant Professor ywua2000@hku.hk
Dr. Kaplan, Gregory Honorary Research Associate gkaplan@hku.hk
 
Hong Kong Studies
Prof. Chu, Stephen Y.W. Professor sywchu@hku.hk
Dr. Wong, John D.O. Assistant Professor jdwong@hku.hk
Dr. Chee, Wai Chi Research Assistant Professor wcchee@hku.hk
 
Japan Studies
Dr. Nakano, Yoshiko Associate Professor ynakano@hku.hk
Dr. Borland, Janet Lorraine Assistant Professor borland@hku.hk
Dr. Gagné, Isaac Thomas Assistant Professor igagne@hku.hk
Dr. Goddard, Timothy Unverzagt Assistant Professor goddard@hku.hk
Dr. Poch, Daniel Taro Assistant Professor dpoch@hku.hk
Dr. Teo, Victor E.L. Assistant Professor victorteo@hku.hk
Dr. Trambaiolo, Daniel Marco Assistant Professor trambaiolo@hku.hk
Prof. Refsing, Kirsten Honorary Professor refsing@hku.hk
Dr. Lee, Pui Tak Honorary Associate Professor ptlee@hku.hk
     
Korean Studies
Dr. Cha, Paul S.K. Assistant Professor pcha@hku.hk
Dr. Kim, Su Yun Assistant Professor suyunkim@hku.hk
 
 
LANGUAGE & CULTURE PROGRAMMES
 
Arabic Programme
Dr. Abbas, Mohamed Salah Eldin Part-time Lecturer salah@hku.hk
 
French Programme
Dr. Meyer, Denis C. Honorary Associate Professor dcmeyer@hku.hk
Mr. Holtermann, Sylvain Lecturer sylvainh@hku.hk
Ms. Li, Marie Lecturer ylib@hku.hk
Mr. Guerillot, Benoit Gilles Assistant Lecturer benoithk@hku.hk
Ms. Iseli-Chan, Nathalie Assistant Lecturer iselicn@hku.hk
Ms. Martinez, Valerie Assistant Lecturer martinez@hku.hk
 
German Programme
Mr. Urbanski, Paul Heinz Senior Lecturer urbanski@hku.hk
Dr. Chong, Li Lecturer lichong@hku.hk
Ms. Fung, Tonja Lecturer tonja@hku.hk
Mr. Purwins, Stefan Assistant Lecturer spurwins@hku.hk
Ms. Tang, Shirly Assistant Lecturer shirly.tang@hku.hk
Mr. Lee, Brian C.W. Part-time Lecturer bcwlee@hku.hk
Ms. Pustea, Adriana Part-time Lecturer apustea@hku.hk
 
Greek Programme
     
 
Italian Programme
Dr. Camporese, Nadia Assistant Lecturer nadcam@hku.hk
 
Japanese Programme
Dr. Yorozu, Miho Senior Lecturer myorozu@hku.hk
Ms. Chan, Yuen Ling Lecturer ylchan@hku.hk
Ms. Kobayashi, Maki Lecturer kmlui@hku.hk
Ms. Mito, Atsuko Lecturer mito@hku.hk
Mr. Ogawa, Masashi Lecturer mogawa@hku.hk
Ms. Yoshikawa, Takako Lecturer tyoshika@hku.hk
Mr. Hashimoto, Takuro Assistant Lecturer thashimo@hku.hk
 
Korean Programme
Ms. Lee, Kangsoon Senior Lecturer kangsoon@hku.hk
Ms. Mun, Mi Kyoung Visiting Lecturer mikyoung@hku.hk
Ms. Chang, Eunkyung Assistant Lecturer eunkyung@hku.hk
Ms. Lee, Eulji Assistant Lecturer euljilee@hku.hk
Ms. Paik, Youngkyoung Assistant Lecturer ykyoung@hku.hk
 
Portuguese Programme
Ms. Almeida, Dora Assistant Lecturer almeidad@hku.hk
 
Spanish Programme    
Ms. Blasco-Garcia, Rocio Senior Lecturer roblasco@hku.hk
Dr. Vázquez Vázquez, Mercedes Lecturer mercedes@hku.hk
Mr. de las Heras Saldaña, José Daniel Visiting Lecturer danielhs@hku.hk
Mr. Acosta Corte, Álvaro Assistant Lecturer aacostac@hku.hk
Mr. Juaristi, Martin Assistant Lecturer martinjg@hku.hk
Mrs. Serrano Jiménez, Alejandra Assistant Lecturer alesj@hku.hk
Dr. Sabounchi, Mahtab Honorary Assistant Professor  
 
Swedish Programme
Mrs. Tolinsson Ting, Kristina Assistant Lecturer tolin@hku.hk
 
Thai Programme
Ms. Ratana-Ubol, Kanokwal Assistant Lecturer took@hku.hk
 
 
Research Staff
     
 
 
School Office
Ms. Chan, Shirley L.P. Secretary to School Head lpchan@hku.hk
Ms. Chau, Cherry C.Y. Clerk cycherry@hku.hk
Ms. Cheng, Lucilla S.M. Executive Officer luci@hku.hk
Mr. Cheung, Hin Fai Clerical Assistant hinfai@hku.hk
Ms. Cheung, Zena Y.P. School Administration Manager zcheung@hku.hk
Mr. Chow, Peter Y.K. Clerk ykchow@hku.hk
Mr. Lau, Eddie W.K. Clerk (Finance and Resources) wklaua@hku.hk
Ms. Lo, Evelyn S.T. Executive Assistant evelynlo@hku.hk
Mrs. Poon, Winnie M.F. Clerical Assistant  
Ms. Shum, Dorothy W.S. Executive Officer dshum@hku.hk
Ms. Tse, Alice K.L Clerical Supervisor tkllee@hku.hk
Ms. Wong, Angel Y.T. Executive Assistant angelwyt@hku.hk
Ms. Wong, Sammie M.K. Office Assistant  
Ms. Yeung, Yvonne S.H. School Office Supervisor yshyeung@hku.hk
Ms. Yim, Venus Y.H. Clerk (Examination and Courses) yvyhcheu@hku.hk
Ms. Yuen, Jenny M.C. Office Attendant  
 
 
Technical Office
Mr. Au, Simon W.N. Technician (AV and Computer) wnaua@hku.hk
Mr. Chan, Raymond C.K. Technician (Laboratory and Self Access) ckchand@hku.hk
Mr. Chan, Kevin H.S. School Technical Manager hschana@hku.hk
Mr. Ho, William H.C. Senior Technical Officer (AV and Computer) whcho@hku.hk
Mr. Lee, C.K. Senior Technician (AV and Computer) cklee@hku.hk
Mr. Tang, Yu Hin IT Assistant yuuki@hku.hk
Ms. Wong, Ada C.Y. Laboratory Assistant adayanw@hku.hk

 
Home | Contact Us back to top